Glasgow City Chambers

banner city chambers

Glasgow City Council consists of 79 councillors elected for a four-year term from 21 electoral districts. The civic leader of Glasgow city council is known as The Lord Provost of Glasgow. The Lord Provost of Glasgow is the convener of the City of Glasgow council. They are elected by the city councillors and serve not only as the chair of that body, but as a figurehead for the entire city.

The current Lord Provost is Councillor Sadie Docherty, who was elected as Lord Provost in May 2012 and will remain Lord Provost until 2017.

In 1895, Glasgow Town Council formally became The Corporation of the City of Glasgow – Glasgow Corporation until local government re-organisation in 1975, when it became City of Glasgow District Council. In 1996 Glasgow District Council was granted unitary status and is now known as Glasgow City Council.

Book your room at Argyll Hotel now: 0141 337 3313.

For contact details and directions check the link: Glasgow City Chambers